JQUERY: Handle a click event on an HTML element within another clickable element

Confusing title?

Let me explain:

I’m working on a project that will allow my employer’s senior team a patient census board. (I work for a hospital if the “patient” thing didn’t give it away).

As this project spans 4 different hospitals,  I present the initial data in collapsed tables,  populated by JQuery from an XML document passed from a PHP script.

In order to expand a table,  I allow the user to click the appropriate row.

Yesterday I was asked to add some new functionality that would allow the user to call up a list of patients by clicking on a column within that row.

The information in this column is wrapped in a span for display purposes,  so I hooked onto that.

Of course,  when I click on it,  both the span click event, AND the row click event fire!

I prevent this,  by placing the span click event handler above the row click event handler in the js file AND ending the span click even with return false;

This is how the table structure is set up


<table>
<tr>
<th>header row</th>
</tr>
<tr class="exoccclick">
<td>Something</td>
<td>Another Thing</td>
<td><span class="pdcold">53</span></td>
</tr>
</table>

And this is the click handling code for both the tr class (exocclick) and the span class (pdcold)


$(document).on('click','.pdcold',function(e){

var tbid = $(this).closest('table').attr('id');

console.log('pdcclick ' + tbid);

return false;  //<--don't forget this bit!
});

$(document).on('click','.exoccclick',function(e){

//some stuff

});

As this is internal I can’t link the actual page,  but here’s a screen shot of what the row looks like:

The Pend DC Old column is the span class where I added the click handler

The Pend DC Old column is the span class where I added the click handler (click to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

