You know you should take a break from coding when…

Recently,  I was trying to get something in our Mirth Integration Engine working.  A project that was behind for a variety of reasons.

I was exhausted,  and stressed when co-workers heard me exclaim:

WTF do you mean its undeclared!   Its declared right there you stupid machine!!!

I waved my fist at the monitor in a threatening manner,  yet this infernal contraption kept telling me “variable mytpe undeclared in line 936″

I thought of EVERYTHING!   I checked to see if scope was the issue,  I was pretty sure it wasn’t.  I thought maybe its a datatype thing,  which made no sense at all…

Finally, in a fit of frustrated rage I walked away, grabbed a coffee, and paced around for a bit before going back to it.

I then took another look at the code


var mtype = msg['MSH']['MSH.10']['MSH.10.1'].toString();

if (mytpe.indexOf('D') > -1) {

}

I checked everything except spelling!

There’s a few minutes of my life I’ll never get back.

2 thoughts on “You know you should take a break from coding when…

Leave a Reply

